Casting on…. Easy as it goes….

Kelly Casanova from Kelly Casanova Textile and Fibre artist posted a link to a blog on her Facebook page about a blog post she read about where the lady started a many years long project knitting up scraps of worsted weight yarn into a blanket. A memory blanket if you want a name for it, I figured this is such a GREAT idea so I casted one on too =D

It’s going to be the perfect project for them days where I want to knit but I don’t want to think about what i’m doing, no counting stitches, no worrying about eyelets or any type of stitch except knit.

I might unravel the baby clothes after Ali has grown out of them too and add them to the blanket to keep forever. What a delightfully beautiful project this will be ! I cannot wait to see it grow.

Here is the original blog post that Kelly showed to us all http://www.soulemama.com/soulemama/2014/01/still-knitting.html

Here is my cast on, I made it a little bigger with 250 stitches cast on. Why? I don’t know hahhaa

Cast on... memory knitted blanket for me

Cast on… memory knitted blanket for me

Why not make one too, it will be so lovely to snuggle into many years down the track and remember my little baby snuggled up inside all of the delightful little things I have previously made for him.

Thanks Kelly, You are amazing 🙂

UPDATE:

I’m still plodding along with this long term project as wool becomes available to use. I expect it to take many years and will show photo’s as it grows

2 thoughts on “Casting on…. Easy as it goes….

  1. Well thank you, but it’s really Amanda who is amazing as it’s her idea! I haven’t started mine yet, too busy with my Primrose, but I look forward to starting, won’t it be a great project in winter when you want something warm on your lap – it’s a double blessing! Love the colour you’ve started off with.

Leave a Reply

